As part of your initial certification requirements for New York State Library Media Specialist Certification, you are required to take three workshops:

  • Child Abuse Prevention
  • SAVE
  • (Dignity for All Students) DASA

Child Abuse Prevention and the SAVE Workshop

  • Both Child Abuse and SAVE are available online. Complete these workshops prior to the beginning of student teaching and submit a copy of your certificate to the LMS Coordinator.
  • Link to online portal for workshops:

Dignity for All Students Workshop (DASA)

DASA is required for all teacher candidates in NY State graduating after December 31, 2013. For more information on DASA, see

Pratt SILS will offer DASA in fall 2014 and spring 2015.

  • Fall 2014 DASA Workshop
  • Presented by Student Assistance Services
  • Friday, September 19, 2014
  • PMC Room 609
  • 10am-5pm with break for lunch
  • Register by emailing the LMS Coordinator; priority to LMS Students graduating in Fall 2014 and current student teachers





Comments are closed.